Foote’s Civil War – Vol. 12

Finished this book out of the ‘in bed reading’ collection. This is a special recasting of Foote’s classic trilogy, but the books are broken up into 14 shorter volumes with pictures and a new ‘bridge’ chapter at the start and end of each volume.

Needless to say its a very good book. Foote includes most of the flavor and the text flows like a novel. As a southerner, the view shades Southern, but not to the point of annoyance. Being 50 years old, there is some dated material, but it stands up well.

The book covered material from the crossing of the James to the election of Lincoln. The next book should be covering Hood’s invasion of Tennessee and Sherman’s March to the Sea and possibly beyond.  There’s not a lot of happy times for Southerners here, just endurance.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s